About the faculty

General information

Faculty joins 140 lecturers and staff (67 PhDs and assosiate professors, 21 doctors, professors ) , and 1000 students. The first step to the creation of the Faculty was the opening of the specialty “multi-channel telecommunications” in 1975. The demand for young professionals was very high, not only in Ukraine but also far beyond its borders, so the number of state-funded places quickly grew from 25  to 75. In 1990 the training of students by the speciality “metrology, standardization and quality control” began.  In 1995, on the basis of the Faculty of Radio Engineering, the Faculty of Telecommunications and Instrumentation was established. It consists of the Department of Telecommunication Systems, the Department of Communication Networks, and the Department of Metrology and Measurement Engineering. That time, the training  of students by the specialities “information security in teleccomunication systems”, “multichannel telecommunications and metrology”, “standardization and certification” started. In 1997 two new specialities opened – “communication networks” and “automatic telecommunications”.

Since 1998, the faculty prepares bachelors, specialists and masters in three areas: telecommunications systems and networks, information networks, metrology and measurement technology.

With the increasing demand on the labor market, in 2007 the directions of training changed: the specialty “metrology and measurement technology” transformed into two new ones – “metrology and information-measuring technologies” and “metrology, standardization and certification”, and a new speciality “management of information security” opened.

Telecommunication Systems (the Head of the Department Volodymyr V. Popovskiy), Communication Networks (the Head of the Department Valeriy M. Bezruk), Metrology and Measuring Equipment (the Head of the Department Igor V. Ruzhentsev).


The faculty trains specialists in the following areas levels of Bachelor, Specialist, Master: 6.050903 – telecommunications (specialty: 7.05090301, 8.05090301 – telecommunication systems and networks; 7.05090302, 8.05090302 – information networks); 6.051002 – metrology, standardization and certification (specialty: 7.051002, 8.051002 – metrological support in the quality of the production); 6.051001 – metrology and information-measuring technology (specialty: 7.051001, 8.050201 – metrology and information-measuring technology); 6.170103 - information security management (7.170103, 8.170103 – administrative management in the field of data protection); 7.000001, 8.000001 – quality, standardization and certification.

More than 300 students enroll from other countries at the Faculty. Teaching is carried out in the Russian, Ukrainian and English.

Science and international cooperation

During the existence of the faculty more than 2,000 highly skilled graduates have been trained. They work in leading telecom companies both in Ukraine (JSC «Ukrtelecom», Kyivstar, MTS, Life) and other countries (Ericsson, Nokia, PeopleNet), at a variety of banking institutions, metrology organizations and departments.

The main research areas of the Faculty are closely related with the educational process and the specialties of the faculty. The pride of the faculty are educational laboratories equipped with the state-of-the-art telecommunication equipment, where students, in addition to practical skills, can get diplomas and certificates of global telecommunications leaders – D-Link, Cisco, Samsung companies.

The availability of modern laboratories and experienced scientific and teaching staff has allowed the faculty to become a leader in the training of specialists in telecommunications, information security management and metrology professions in Ukraine. Over recent years, students of the faculty constantly win prizes at the All-Ukrainian student competitions and the All-Ukrainian competitions of scientific works. The highest achievings of students are winning and prizes in 2010, 2011 years in the Eastern European competitions in Cisco networking and Ukrainian Olympiads of telecommunications and metrology.

With a new enhanced level of training the external relations of the Faculty have extended. In Ukraine, the faculty fruitfully cooperates with all leading educational institutions on the profile of the faculty, and it also has established educational and scientific cooperation with universities in Poland, Bulgaria, Germany, Vietnam.  Students have the opportunity to get a double master’s degree, also the training programs for teachers and researchers in foreign universities are available.

save this page as PDF

О факультете

Общие сведения

Факультет объединяет 140 преподавателей и сотрудников (67 кандидатов наук и доцентов, 21 доктора наук, профессора), и 1000 студентов. Первым шагом к созданию факультета стало открытие в 1975 г. специальности многоканальная электросвязь. Спрос на молодых специалистов был очень высоким не только в Украине, но и далеко за ее пределами, поэтому количество госбюджетных мест c 25 быстро выросло до 75. В 1990 г. началась подготовка студентов по специальности метрология, стандартизация и управление качеством, а в 1995 г. на базе радиотехнического факультета был создан факультет телекоммуникаций и измерительной техники. В его состав вошли кафедры телекоммуникационных систем, сетей связи, а также метрологии и измерительной техники. Вместе с тем начата подготовка специалистов по специальностям: защита информации в телекоммуникационных системах, многоканальная электросвязь и метрология, стандартизация и сертификация. В 1997 г. открыто еще две специальности – сети связи и автоматическая электросвязь.

С 1998 г. факультет готовит бакалавров, специалистов и магистров по трем направлениям: телекоммуникационные системы и сети, информационные сети связи, метрология и измерительная техника.

В связи с ростом спроса на рынке труда в 2007 г. направления подготовки изменились: специальность метрология и измерительная техника трансформировалась в две новых – метрология и информационно-измерительные технологии и метрология, стандартизация и сертификация, а также появилась новая специальность – управление информационной безопасностью.

Кафедры факультета: телекоммуникационных систем (заведующий профессор Поповский В.В.), сетей связи (заведующий профессор Безрук В.М.), метрологии и измерительной техники (заведующий профессор Руженцев И.В.)

Обучение

Факультет готовит специалистов по четырем направлениям уровней бакалавр, специалист, магистр: 6.050903 – телекоммуникации (7.05090301, 8.05090301 – телекоммуникационные системы и сети; 7.05090302, 8.05090302 – информационные сети связи); 6.051002 – метрология, стандартизация и сертификация (7.051002, 8.051002 – метрологическое обеспечение качества продукции), 6.051001 – метрология и информационно-измерительные технологии (7.051001, 8.050201 – метрология и информационно-измерительные технологии); 7.000001, 8.000001 – качество, стандартизация и сертификация; 6.170103 – управление информационной безопасностью (7.170103, 8.170103 административный менеджмент в сфере защиты информации).

На факультете учится свыше 300 иностранных студентов. Преподавание осуществляется на русском, украинском и английском языках.

Наука и международное сотрудничество

За время существования факультета здесь подготовлено более 2000 высококвалифицированных выпускников, которые работают в ведущих телекоммуникационных компаниях как Украины (ОАО «Укртелеком», Київстар, МТС, Life) так и за ее пределами (Ericsson, Nokia, PeopleNet), разнообразных банковских учреждениях, метрологических организациях и отделах.

Основные научные направления факультета тесно связаны с учебным процессом и специальностями факультета. Гордостью факультета являются учебные лаборатории, оборудованные наиболее современным телекоммуникационным оборудованием, в которых студенты кроме навыков и умений могут получить дополнительные дипломы и сертификаты мировых телекоммуникационных лидеров – фирм D-Link, Cisco, Samsung.

Наличие современных лабораторий и опытного научно-педагогического состава позволило факультету стать лидером в подготовке специалистов по телекоммуникациям, управлению информационной безопасностью и метрологическим специальностям в Украине. На протяжении последних лет студенты факультета постоянно занимают призовые места на Всеукраинских студенческих олимпиадах и Всеукраинских конкурсах научных работ. Высочайшими достижениями студентов являются победы и призовые места в 2010, 2011 годах на Восточноевропейских олимпиадах по сетевым технологиям Cisco и Всеукраинских олимпиадах по телекоммуникациям и метрологии.

С выходом на новый уровень подготовки расширились и внешние связи факультета. В Украине факультет почти с самого начала плодотворно сотрудничает со всеми ведущими учебными заведениями по профилю факультета, а за пределами Украины налажено учебно-научное сотрудничество с университетами Польши, Болгарии, Германии, Вьетнама. Студенты имеют возможность получить двойную магистратуру, готовятся программы для стажировки преподавателей и научных работников в зарубежных университетах.

cохранить эту страницу в PDF